Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2681

Appoint a commission to investigate into the killings of 37 members of Sri Lanka Parliament

Colombo,28 June, ( Pressure is mounting on the Government of Sri Lanka to appoint a commission to investigate into the killings of 37 elected members of Parliament of Sri Lanka, starting from the murder of Alfred Duraiyappah on 27 July 1975, up to that of the slaying of Minister Jeayaraj Fernandopulle on 06 April 2008, in a bomb blast in Welliweriya.

Alfred Duaraiyappah, who was a Member of Sri Lanka Parliament and Mayor of Jaffna was the first MP to be killed by the suspected Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam. Though the case regarding the killing of Alfred Duraiyappah was taken up for hearing and judgment was delivered, it is suspected that the actual killer was not brought before any court of law in Sri Lanka.

In fact, V.Prabakaran, the leader of the LTTE, proudly claimed that he was the one who killed Alfred Duraiyappah, and he remains at large.

Unfortunately up to now, there is no way either to confirm or dismiss the claim of the Tiger leader about the killing of Alfred Duaraiyappah.

Dr. Keheliya Rambukwella when talking to Asian Tribune said that he intends to take up this issue with the Government of Sri Lanka for the setting up of a Presidential Investigative Commission to go into the killings of 37 former Members of Parliament who represented the people of this country one time or more in their life time.

Asian Tribune contacted, Dr. Keheliya Rambukwella, Minister of Foreign Employment Promotions and Welfare & Government Spokesman for Defense and National Security, regarding the move for the investigation on the massacre of 401 unarmed Police Officers on 11 June 19990.

Earlier, The Government officially announced on 13th June 2008 that investigations will be conducted into the massacre of 401 police officers on 11-06-1990 in Amparai, Trincomalee and Batticaloa areas on the request made by the affected families.

Dr. Keheliya Rambukwella said that the killing of 401 police officers … such a mass murder has gone without any investigation. Time to time this issue has been brought up, but so far no action has been taken. Many NGO organizations and r human rights groups are talking about this massacre. But I will say it is the obligation of the Government in fairness to the Police Department, I think this issue has to be investigated.

"Do you know the man or men behind the massacre of these policemen?," Asian Tribune asked the Minister.

He said "That is what that has to be inquired about? To those who were involved in the massacre, the law of the land will apply without showing any partiality. You can be assured of that."

In this context Asian Tribune pointed out that similar to the massacre of the policemen, so far Government has not come up to investigate into the killings of 37 elected Members of Parliament of Sri Lanka?

So far successive Governments have failed to investigate, why, and how they were killed and who were the culprits. Successive governments have failed to come up with an investigative commission to go into the killings of these Members of parliament.

Dr. Keheliya Rambukwella said, "Regarding the killing of the parliamentarians, I think that time to time investigations were carried out and in some instances cases were also filed in the law courts. But he added that so far in the cases of the MPS who have been killed, in fairness to their families, we have to go into the root causes of all those killings.

So far Tamils, Muslim and Sinhalese parliamentarians were killed. It was alleged that these killings were committed time to time by the LTTE, but there is no hard evidence available to back up those allegations.

In the case of the killing of India’s former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, Indian Government investigated and tried suspects in connection with the killing, in India’s law courts, but at the same time Indian Government set up two investigative commissions - Justice Milap Chand Commission of Inquiry to unravel the wider conspiracy behind Rajiv Gandhi's assassination by the Tamil Tigers in May 1991 during his poll campaign tour in Tamil Nadu.

Subsequently, Justice Jain Commission was established in August 1991 to provide a comprehensive investigation into the circumstances of Rajiv Gandhi's death, in particular the alleged security lapses prior to the bomb explosion.

Minister Dr. Keheliya Rambukwella said, "Yes, yes. We are considering in this line and I think that I will be able to suggest this to my Government. I wish to suggest that Government must come forward to investigate into the massacre of the 401 policemen, at the same time another investigative commission has to be set up to investigate the killings of the elected members of parliament of Sri Lanka.

The lists of the Parliamentarians so far killed are given below:

1. On 27 July 1975 - Alfred Duraiyappah, MP and mayor of Jaffna.

2. On 25 May 1981 – A. Thiagarajah MP for Vaddukoddai

3.On 03 September 1985 - V.Dharmalingham MP for Manipay

4. On 03 September 1985 - K.Alalasundaram MP for Kopay

5. On 13 November 1987 - Abdul Majeed MP for Muthur

6. On 12 February 1988 S. Nadarajah (Poddar) former Member of Senate (Sri Lanka’s upper House of Parliament) from 1967 till 02 October 1971

7. On 13 July 1989 - A. Amirthalingham National List MP

8. On 13 July 1989 - V. Yogeswaran MP for Jaffna

9. On 07 May 1990 - Sam Thambimuthu MP for Batticalao

10. On 19 June 1990 - W.K. Yogasangari M.P. for Jaffna

11 15 July 1990 - M. Kanagaratnam MP for Pottuvil

12. On 02 March – 1991 Ranjan Wijeratne MP & Minister

13. On 23 April 1993 - Lalith Athulathmudali MP& Minister

14. On 01 May 1993 - R. Premadasa MP and President of Sri Lanka

15. On 24 October 1994 - Gamini Dissanayake MP, Minister & Presidential Candidate

16. On 24 October 1994 - G.M. Premachandra MP & Minister

17. On 24 October 1994 - Weerasinghe Mallimarachchi MP & Minister

18. On 24 October 1994 - Ossie Abeyagunasekera MP

19. On 31 December 1994 - Karavai Kandasamy MP for Vavuniya

20. On 05 July 1997 - A. Thangathurai MP Trincomalee

21. On 20 July 1997 -MRH Mahroof MP for Trincomalee

22. On 15 July 1998 - S. Shanmuganathan MP for Vavuniya

23 On 06 October 1998 – Kanagasabai Rajathurai MP for Jaffan

24 On 29 July 1999 - Dr. Neelan Thiruchelvan National List MP

25. On 02 November 1999 Atputharaja Nadarajah MP for Jaffna

26 On 07 June 2000, C.V. Gunaratne MP and Minister

27 On 16 September 2000 - M.H.M. Ashraff MP & Minister

28. On 07 November 2000 - Aslie Nimalan Soundaranayagam MP elect Batticaloa

29 On 20 October 2004 - Kingsley Rasanayagam MP (elect) for Batticaloa

30. On 07 February 2005 - Chandra Nehru MP for Batticaloa
31 On 13 August 2005 - Laksman Kadirgamar MP & Minister

32. On 25 December 2005 - Joseph Pararajasingham MP for Batticaloa

33. On 21 August 2006 – Sinnathamby Sivamaharajah MP for Jaffna District

34. On 01 January 2008 – T.Maheswaran MP for Colombo District

35. On 08 January 2008 - D.M. Dassanayake MP and Minister died on a claymore blast

36. On 06 March 2008 Parliamentarian K.Sivanesan MP for Jaffna district was killed due to a claymore mine explosion in Vanni.

37. On 06 April 2008, Jeyaraj Fernandopulle MP and Minister was killed in a bomb blast in Welliweriya

- Asian Tribune -

Share this