Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2643

CA by-election in Maoist favor, Prez’s son looses election

Kosh Raj Koirala – Asian Tribune Correspondent in Nepal

Kathmandu, 12 April, ( The ruling Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) bagged two seats, while two other coalition partners—CPN-UML and Madhesi People’s Rights Forum (MPRF)—and the main opposition party Nepali Congress won one seat each in the Constituent Assembly (CA) by election held on Friday.

The result of one of the six constituencies is yet to be announced, though the Maoist candidate is maintaining lead against its rival candidate belonging to the CPN-UML.

The CA by-elections were conducted at six vacant constituencies: Morang – 5 and 7, Dhanusha – 5, Kaski – 1, Rolpa – 2 and Kanchanpur – 4.

The seats fell vacant after politicians who contested and won two constituencies in last year's elections were asked to give up one of their seats. A constituency in Dhanusha district in eastern Nepal fell vacant after Ram Baran Yadav vacated his seat after he was elected as the first of President of the youngest republic in the world.

The CPN-UML candidate Raghubir Mahashet won the election in Dhanusha-5. He received 13,230 votes against a total 12,189 vote obtained by his nearest rival. NC candidate Dr Chandra Mohan Yadav, who is the son of President Dr Ram Baran Yadav, stood third in the race.

Nepali Congress candidate Dr Shekhar Koirala has been elected CA member by securing 12071 votes from Morang 7. His nearest rival Chum Naryan Tebedar of Madhesi People’s Rights Forum secured 11379 votes.

Jaya Ram Yadav of MPRF won the election from Morang 5 by securing a thick margin of 4,480 against his nearest rival belonging to the Maoist.

Harish Thakulla, candidate of the ruling Maoist won the CA by-election from Kanchanpur – 4, securing 10,782 votes. His nearest opponent Yagya Raj Joshi of Nepali Congress secured a total 9,994 votes. Nepali Congress lost one seat in the CA with the defeat in this constituency. NC leader Sher Bahadur Deuba had won from this constituency in the CA elections held in April 10 last year.

Likewise, Maoist candidate Krishna Bahadur Gurung got victory in Kaski-1 by securing 12,257 votes. His nearest rival NC candidate Deepak Gurung received 32 votes less to him.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this