Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2786

Monthly archive

No House time for LTTE talk by TNA: PA, JVP

The Island:The PA and the JVP yesterday said the TULF-led TNA should not expect the opposition to allocate time for its members if the alliance wants to speak on behalf of the LTTE.

LTTE holds on to Pesalai murder suspects

by Shamindra Ferdinando - The Island

The Island:The LTTE has declined to handover two suspects including an ex-LTTE cadre wanted in connection with the murder of his 19-year-old wife, whose charred body was found near a refugee camp at Pesalai last week.

SLFP canvassing support to form alternative government

By Dilrukshi Handunnetti - The Sunday Leader

The Sunday Leader:The main opposition Sri Lanka Freedom Party(SLFP) is busy canvassing support from government legislators to form an alternative government, in the event the President decides to dissolve the House.

Hakeem under pressure not to attend talks

The Sunday Leader:Ports minister Rauf Hakeem is under pressure by the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) High Command not to attend the second round of talks in Thailand.

National Coalition Government of Burma lauds CRPP for accepting new members to Parliament.

The National Coalition Government of the Union of Burma (NCGUB) is heartened by the recent decisions taken by the Committee Representing the People's Parliament (CRPP) at a regular meeting in Rangoon on 23 October 2002. The legitimate body representing the whole people decided, among others, to bring in leaders of major ethnic political parties as members and expand the CRPP to accept new members.

Unfortunately the Norwegians failed to add the Sri Lankan foursome for Nobel Prize for Peace – 2002.

Compiled by: V.Rajeny

The list of nominations, which this year included 117 indivi-
duals and 39 groups – unfortunately the Norwegians failed to add the Sri Lankan foursome – Chandrika Kumaratunge, Ranil Wickremasinghe, Velupillai Prabhakaran and Anton Balasingham, remains secret for 50 years!

Tipu Sultan - the Bangladesh is one of the four recipient of CPJ awards.

By K.T.Rajasingham

Tipu Sultan, the courageous journalist from Feni, Bangladesh, at present a freelancer for the daily “Prothom Alo,” a leading newspaper of Bangladesh, has been nominated by “The Committee to Protect Journalists,” to receive the prestigious 12th International Press Freedom Awards – 2002. Tipu Sultan is one of the four journalists nominated for such a rare honor by, The Committee for Protect Journalists, which stood very steadfastly with him from the very day he was attacked (25 January 2001).