Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2523

Sri Lanka: 33 Non-Cabinet Ministers and 19 Deputy Ministers sworn in: MOU between ruling SLFP and opposition UNP comes to end

Colombo, 28 January, ( Thirty Three Non-Cabinet Ministers and 19 Deputy Ministers were also sworn before the President today.

Earlier, President Mahinda Rajapaksas' Sri Lanka Freedom Party and the opposition UNP in October 2006 agreed to work together to hammer out a political solution to the long-running ethnic conflict.

However, UNP Secretary Tissa Attanayake said the deal would be over the moment their members were accommodated on the government side.

"From the time the defectors are given portfolios and taken to the government side, our MOU (memorandum of understanding) will be over," Attanayake said

In the meantime Rukman Senanayake, Chairman of theUnited National Party (UNP) has informed the government that the Memorandum of Understanding signed with the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), main constituent of the United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) government will come to end with the accommodation of party dissident group in the cabinet.

He also told media persons in Colombo that, "I conveyed our decision that the MoU would come to an end with the dissidents' cross over," said Rukman Senanayake.

Ranil Wickremasinghe, leader of the UNP is currently abroad, visiting Nepal and India.

Newly sworn in Non-Cabinet Ministers and their subjects

1. Salinda Dissanayake - Minister of Coconut Development

2. Dilan Perera - Minister of Justice

3. Hemakumara Nanayakkara - Minister of Agriculture

4. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena - Minister of Media & Foreign

5. M. N. Abdul Majeed - Minister of Cooperatives

6. Ameer Ali Sihabdeen - Minister of Disaster Relief Services

7. A. P. Jagath Pushpakumara - Minister of Nation Building'

8. R. A. Jayatissa - Minister of Textile Industries

9. Chandrasiri Gajadeera - Minister of Home Affairs

10. T. B. Ekanayake - Minister of Highways

11. Mahinda Amaraweera - Minister of Water Supply

12. Rohitha Abeygunawardana- Minister of Nation Building

13. Anwar Ismail - Minister of Irrigation

14. S. M. Chandrasena - Minister of Water Supply

15. Bandula Basnayake - Minister of Sports

16. Gunaratna Weerakoon - Minister of Nation Building

17. Sripathi Suriyarachchi - Minister of Port Development

18. D. M. Dassanayake - Minister of Nation Building

19. Pandu Bandaranaike - Minister for Religious Affairs

20. Mahindananda Aluthgamage - Minister of Power

21. (Dr.) Mervyn Silva - Minister of Labour

22. Naveen Dissanayake - Minister of Investment Promotion

23. Jayaratna Herath - Minister of Health Promotion & Disease Prevention

24. Dayashiritha Tissera - Minister of Skills Development

25. Duminda Dissanayake - Minister of Petroleum Resources

26. Ranjith Siyambalapitiya - Minister of State Revenue and Finance

27. Lasantha Alagiyawanna - Minister of Road Passenger Transport

28. Rohana Kumara Dissasnayake - Urban Development

29. Nirmala Kothalawala - Minister of Education Services

30. Cegu Isadeen - Minister of Export Development

31. H. R. Mithrapala - Minister of Consumer Affairs

32. Basheer Cegu Dawood - Minister of Local Government

33. Mano Wijeratna - Minister of Enterprise Development

Newly sworn in Deputy Ministers and their subjects

1. Sangaralingam Sellasamy - Posts

2. Muttu Sivanlingam - Estate Infrastructure

3. G. V. Susantha Punchinilame - Public Estate Management and

4. Siripala Gamlath - Agrarian Services

5. Hussein Bhaila - Foreign Affairs

6. Faizer Mustapha - Tourism

7. Murugan Satchithanandan - Education

8. P. H. Lionel Premasiri - Social Services & Social Welfare

9. W. B. Ekanayake - Highways

10. Suresh Vadivel - Health

11. Chandrasiri Suriarachchi - Land and Land Development

12. M. M. Musthapha - Higher Education

13. Shanmugam Jegathgeeswaran - National Integration

14. Edward Gunasekera - Railways

15. Naomal Perera - Fisheries

16. Sarath Kumara Gunarathna - Aviation

17. M. T. Hassan Ali - Supplementary Crops Development

18. K. Abdul Baiz - Provincial Councils

19. M. C. Mohamed Faisal - Scientific Affairs

- Asian Tribune -

Share this