Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 73

Indian Parliament expelled 11 'tainted' lawmakers

[b]Indian Parliament expelled 11 'tainted' lawmakers[/b]

From M Rama Rao - Reporting from New Delhi

[b]New Delhi, 24 December ( [/b]Indian Parliament on Friday expelled 11 members - ten from the Lower House, (Lok Sabha), and one from the Upper House, (Rajya Sabha )– twelve days after they figured in the sensational cash for questions scam unearthed by a leading television news channel, Aaj Tak, and a web site,, through a sting operation.

This was the third time the Indian Parliament invoked its power to expel an elected member first time in fifties on charges of financial impropriety and second time in the seventies on a charge of political impropriety. The seventies victim of expulsion was Indira Gandhi, who had returned in a by-election to the Lok Sabha, after being unseated in the Janata party wave at the end of her infamous emergency rule.

L K Advani, the BJP President, who was a party to the decision to unseat Indira Gandhi in 1978, did not like a wee bit today's Parliament decision. Six of the 11 lawmakers axed belonged to his party. They are Annasaheb MK Patil, YG Mahajan, Suresh Chandel, Pradeep Gandhi and Chandra Pratap Singh, all from Lok Sabha and Chhatrapal Singh Lodha from the Rajya Sabha.

Three belonged to charismatic Mayawati led Bahujan Samaj Party. They are Narendra Kumar Kushwaha, Lal Chandra Kol and Rajaram Pal. The Congress and its ally RJD has one member each in the tainted category. They are Ramsevak Singh and Manoj Kumar.

Share this