Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 72

Manmohan Singh takes 19 new ministers

[b]Manmohan Singh takes 19 new ministers[/b]

By M Rama Rao – Reporting from New Delhi

New Delhi. 30 January, ( Expanding his cabinet for the first time after taking over as prime minister, Manmohan Singh on Sunday inducted 19 new ministers (seven of Cabinet rank and 12 ministers of state), and elevated three juniors including Kapil Sibal, a noted jurist to the Cabinet level. With an eye on Tamilnadu which is going for assembly elections soon, he took in Tamil Nadu Congress leader and son of the late G K Moopanar, G K Vasan as Minister of State with Independent Charge.

President Kalam administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at the Ashoka Hall in Rashtrapati Bhavan. The swearing-in ceremony lasted for about an hour.

The new cabinet ministers are : Sushil Kumar Shinde, A R Antulay, Vayalar Ravi, Murli Deora, Ambika Soni, Saifuddin Soz and Shibu Soren. Santosh Mohan Deb, Prem Chand Gupta and Kapil Sibal have been elevated to the Cabinet rank.

Share this