Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 1586

LTTE has so far killed 25 parliamentarians.

Colombo, 26 December, ( Tamil rebels of Sri Lanka so far have killed with impunity, 28 Sri lanka’s Parliamentarians, which is a highly condemnable act, undoubtedly an act against humanity. Parliamentarians belonging to Tamil, Muslim and Sinhala ethnic groups had been killed. On top of it, Rajiv Gandhi, a former Prime Minister of India too had been killed by the Tamil terrorist organization.

Joseph Pararajasingham, the Tamil National Alliance MP killed on the wee hours of 25 December was the 28th parliamentarian to be killed by the Tamil terrorists.

Joint Operation Command of the Sri Lanka Armed Forces, for the first time in a press release, openly alleged that Joseph Parajasingham was killed by the LTTE’s pistol group. On the other hand, a section of the TNA members of parliament alleged that the killing was the handy work of the Sri Lanka Army intelligent operatives.

So far, Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam, Sri Lanka’s Tamil separatist terrorist’s organization killed nearly 25 of those 28 parliamentarians.

The killing of the parliamentarians started for the first time on 27 July 1975 when they killed Alfred Duraiappah.

Alfred Duriappah, a most popular Tamil leader in the sixties and seventies who was twice elected as a Member of Parliament from the Jaffna electorate - March 1960 and again in July 1960 - 1965. He was killed by the LTTE gunmen when he went to worship at the Hindu temple - Ponnalai Varatharajaha Perumal Temple in the Jaffna district. He was also the Mayor of Jaffna.

Following the killing of Alfred Duraiapph, a former Vaddukoddai Member Parliament A. Thiaagarajah, was shot and killed on 25 May 1981.

Subsequently, V.Dharmalingham and K.Alalalasundaram, former parliamentarians of the Tamil United Liberation Front were abducted from their homes on 03 September 1987 and killed by the Tamil Eelam Liberation Organization (TELO), presently led by Selvam Adaikalanathan, an MP of the Tamil National Alliance.

On 16 September 2000, the killing of MHM Ashraff, Member of Parliament, Minister and the founder of the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress remained unclear, but now the finger has been already pointed at the LTTE.

On 20 October 2004, Kingsley Rasnayakam the MP elect from Batticalao was abducted and killed by the LTTE gunmen.

Chandra Nehru, the Parliamentarian from the Amparai district was killed on 7th February 2005 and it still remains unclear. Allegations are leveled on the Tamil National Force led by Colonel Karuna the former LTTE’s renegade regional commander.

On 13 August 2005 Lakshman Kadirgamar, MP and Sri Lanka’s Foreign Minister was shot and killed by the LTTE gunmen.

The list of the Parliamentarians killed are given below :

1. On 27 July 1975 - Alfred Duaraiappah, MP and mayor of Jaffna.

2. On 25 May 1981 - A, Thiagarajah MP for Vaddukoddai

3.On 03 September 1985 - V.Dharmalingham MP for Manipay

4. On 03 September 1985 - K.Alalasundaram MP for Kopay

5. On 13 November 1987 - Abdul Majeed MP for Muthur

6. On 13 July 1989 - A. Amirthalingham MP National list

7. On 13 July 1989 - V.Yogeswaran MP for Jaffna

8. On 07 May 1990 - Sam Thambimuthu MP for Batticalao

9. On 19 June 199 - 0W.K.Yogasangari M.P. for Jaffna

10 15 July 1990 - M. Kanagaratnam MP for Pottuvil

11. On 02 March - 1991Ranjan Wijeratne MP & Minister

12. On 01 May 1993 - R. Premadasa MP and President Sri lanka

13. On 24 October 1994 - Gamini Dissanayake MP, Minister & Presidential Candidate

14. On 24 October 1994 - G.M.Premachandra MP & Minister

15. On 24 October 1994Weerasinghe Mallimarachchi MP & Minister

16. On 24 October 1994 - Ossie Abeyagunasekera MP

17. On 31 December 1994 - Karavai Kandasamy MP for Vavuniya

18. On 05 July 1997 - A. Thangathurai MP Trincomalee

19. On 20 July 1997MRH Mahroof MP for Trincomalee

20. On 15 July 1998 - S.Shanmuganathan MP for Vavuniya

21 On 29 July 1999 - Dr. Neelan Thiruchelvan National List MP

22 On 07 June 2000, C.V.Gunaratne MP and Minister

23 On 16 September 2000 - M.H.M. Ashraff. MP & Minister

24. On 07 November 2000 - Aslie Nimalan Soundaranayagam MP elect Batticaloa

25 On 20 October 2004 - Kingsley Rasanayagam MP (elect) for Batticaloa

26. On 07 February 2005 - Chandra Nehru MP for Batticaloa

27 On 13 August 2005 - Laksman Kadirgamar MP & Minister

28. On 25 December 2005 - Joseph Pararajasingham MP was shot and killed

Post your comments

- Asian Tribune -

Share this