Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2908

Eastern Provincial Council Nominations: 1,342 Candidates Vying for 37 Seats

Colombo, 04 April, (Asian Tribune.) Filing of nominations for the East Provincial Council concluded yesterday noon without any incidents reported. Commissioner of Elections, Dayananda Dissanake said that the elections for the Eastern Provincial Council will be held on 10 May. A total of 1342 candidates are contesting for the 35 elected seats and for the 2 bonus seats in the Council. The three districts in the regions would have in Batticaloa 11, Trincomalee 10 and Ampara 14. Many observers believe that this is a land-mark election due to the fact that only a year ago the East was still being liberated by the government armed forces from the dictatorial LTTE rule.

According to the Elections Department 982,721 voters are eligible to cast their vote in the three districts namely Batticaloa 330,950, Ampara 490,308 and Trincomalee 242,463 to appoint 35 members.

Sources in the Election Commission revealed that a total 105 nominations were received from registered political parties and independent groups by the Assistant Elections Commissioners of the three districts. Accordingly, there were 40 nominations filed in Amparai , 30 in Batticaloa and 35 in Trincomalee districts .

According to the sources in the election commission has rejected a total of 14 nominations from the three districts.

In the Amparai district out of the total number of nominations filed, four by independent groups and three by the Sri Lanka Progressive Front, the Tamil United Liberation Front and the Sri Lanka National Front were rejected.

Out of the 30 nominations filed from the Batticaloa district, those by one independent group, the Ruhunu Janatha Party and the Tamil National Democratic Alliance were rejected.

Of the 35 nominations filed in Trincomalee district, nominations filed by the Eelam People’s Democratic Party (EPDP), Muslim Liberation Front, Tamil National Democratic Alliance and Tamil Democratic Party were rejected.

United National Party which has coalesced with Sri Lanka Muslim Congress has put forward Rauff Hakeem Leader of the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress as its Chief Minister candidate.

The JVP, which intends going it alone at the Eastern Provincial Council elections, has named Kantale Pradeshiya Sabha Member Wimal Piyatissa, a school teacher by profession, as its chief ministerial candidate.

Party sources said Mr. Piyatissa would lead the party in the Trincomalee District and Mohamed Ibrahim in the Batticaloa District. The party’s Digamadulla district leader will be Krishantha Priyadarshana.

The UPFA nomination papers were handed over by Minister Jeyaraj Fernandopulle amidst a large gathering. Several other Ministers including John Senevitatne, Rishard Baddudeen, Siripala Gamlath, Western Province Governor Alavi Mowlana and Presidential Advisor A. H. M. Azwer were also present.

But so far UPFA has not anounced its chief minister candidate.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this