Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2954

Weerawansa and his fellow MPs will act as a separate group in the parliament

Sunil C. Perera and Chithralal Jayasinghe

Colombo, 28 May, ( Dissident MPs of the JVP plan to act in the parliament as a separate group. A spokesman of the Weerawansa faction said Mr.Wimal Weerawansa would take over the leadership of this group.

Commenting yesterday’s hard decisions of the JVP at the fifth convention held in Colombo he said JVP’s decisions are not important and it is not unnatural thing for Weerawansa or his fellow MPs.

However Weerwansa lost two key posts of the JVP as Propaganda Secretary and the Parliament Group Leadership.

At present Weerawansa faction consists eleven MPs, including Nandana Gunathilaka. Weerawansa faction plans to register a new political party called National Freedom Front under the leadership of Nandana Gunathilaka.

In the meantime, during the fifth convention, General Secretary of the JVP Tylwin Silva said "If one is found guilty we will work against him, regardless of his background. If anyone feels this party’s constitution or these regulations are too strict, they can leave the party as some did, as we want this party to remain as the only party which can discipline this country,"

The JVP yesterday re-appointed Somawansa Amarasinghe as its leader at the party’s fifth convention held at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium.

The party also named a 24-member Central Committee. Tilvin Silva was re-appointed General Secretary and six others were appointed to the politburo. The politburo comprises Tilvin Silva, new Propaganda Secretary MP Vijitha Herath, Parliamentary Group leader and Financial Secretary MP Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Education Affairs Secretary MP Chandrasena Wijesinghe, Administrative Affairs Secretary MP K.D. Lalkantha, Organizing Secretary G. Kularatne and International Affairs Secretary, Party leader Amarasinghe.

The new central committee comprises 24 members. They include seven members of the politburo. Other CC members are Bimal Rathnayake, Sunil Handunetthi, Dimuthu Atigala, Jinadasa Kitulagoda, S. K. Subasinghe, Nihal Galappaththi, Ramalingam Chandrasegar, Lakshaman Nipunarachchi, Chameera Koswatte, Dimuthu Bandara Abeykoon, Priyanga Kotalawala, Ajith Kumara, Waruna Rajapaksa, Mahinda Jayasinghe,

- Asian Tribune -

Share this