Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 79

Seven Bangladesh MPs-elect to take oath today

M.A. Kader-Asian Tribune Correspondent in Bangladesh

Dhaka, 08 April ( Seven MPs-elect in the by-election of April 2 will take oath today (Wednesday). Speaker Abdul Hamid will administer the oath ceremony, a government handout said.

Ruling Awami League bagged three more seats, including Jatiya Party stronghold Kurigram-2, in last Thursday's by-elections.

BNP won two seats, Bogra-7 going to former speaker Mohammad Jamiruddin Sircar, and Bogra-6 to former law minister Moudud Ahmed.

Jatiya Party’s (JP-Ershad) Roushan Ershad, wife of party chief HM Ershad, bagged his vacated seat in Rangpur-3.

AL's Abul Kalam Azad bagged Rangpur-6, while Md Zafar Ali won Kurigram-2. Nazmul Hasan Papon, son of president Md Zillur Rahman, won his father's Kishoreganj-6 seat.

Six constituencies, two each, were vacated by prime minister Sheikh Hasina, Jatiya Party chairman HM Ershad and BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia. Another seat was vacated when Zillur Rahman was elected president last month.

The total seat in the parliament is 345. Of them, MPs have been elected in direct election for 300 seats while women MPs for 45 reserved seats have already been elected for the ninth parliament.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this