Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2559

Sri Lanka President appoints Task Force for Resettlement, Development and Security in the Northern Province

Hilary Rajakarunanayake, Editor – Sri Lanka, Asian Tribune

Colombo, 14 May, ( Sri Lanka’s PresidentSenior Presidential Advisor Basil Rajapaksa MPSenior Presidential Advisor Basil Rajapaksa MP Mahinda Rajapaksa has appointed a 19- member Presidential Task Force for Resettlement, Development and Security in the Northern Province. It is mandated to prepare strategic plans, programs and projects to resettle internally displaced persons, (IDPs), rehabilitate and develop economic and social infrastructure of the Northern Province.

Senior Presidential Advisor Basil Rajapaksa MP has been appointed as the Chairman of the Task Force with Essential Services Commissioner General S.B.Divarathne as the Secretary.

At the first meeting of the Task Force held yesterday, Senior Presidential Advisor and the Chairman of the Task Force Basil Rajapaksa MP said, that 90 percent of the territory of the Northern Province had been cleared of terrorism by the Security Forces at great sacrifice under the guidance and leadership of President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

“The highest tribute that can be paid to the war heroes is to provide the IDPs with basic facilities, to resettle them in their original native places and to restore their livelihoods. Already Security Forces have taken steps to provide security to cleared areas and the Government led by the President has drawn its attention to the security of the people, security of the North and of the country”, he added.

He further said that the President had sent a directive yesterday to all Secretaries of Ministries to make arrangements to resettle IDPs in their original homes and to restore their lost livelihoods.
In the aftermath of the conflict in the East the Government successfully resettled IDPs. In the near future, IDPs in the North too will be resettled, pledged Basil Rajapaksa MP.

The Presidential directive appointing the Task Force required it to complete it’s mandate and report to the President on the completion of the mandate within one year.

A Special Government Gazette notification containing this directive was published yesterday.

Other members of the Task Force are:

* Secretary to the President, Lalith Weeratunge,

* Secretary, Defence, Public Security Law and Order, Gotabaya Rajapaksa,

* Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Planning, Sumith Abeysinghe,

* Secretary, Ministry of Resettlement and Disaster Relief Services, U L M Haldeen,

* Secretary, Ministry of Nation Building and Estate Infrastructure Development, W.K.K.Kumarasiri,

* Secretary, Ministry of Highways and Road Development, S.Amarasekera,

* Secretary, Ministry of Power and Energy, M M C Ferdinando,

* Secretary Ministry of Land and Land Development, J R W Dissanayake,

* Secretary, Ministry of Health Care and Nutrition, Dr. Athula Kahandaliyanage,

* Chief of Defence Staff, Air Chief Marshal G D Perera,

*Commander of the Army Lt.Gen.Sarath Fonseka,

* Commander of the Navy, Vice Admiral Wasantha Karannagoda,

* Commander of the Air Force, Air Marshall, W D R M J Gunatillake,

* Inspector General of Police, Jayantha Wickremarathne,

* Director General\Department of Civil Defence, Rear Admiral S P Weerasekera,

* Chief of Staff of the Sri Lanka Army\Competent Authority for the Northern Province Maj.Gen.G A Chandrasiri, and

* Former Director General\National Planning Dept. B.Abeygunewardena .

- Asian Tribune -

Share this