Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2611

Removing Ethnic-Based Political Parties in Sri Lanka

By Shenali Waduge

There are 61 registered political parties in Sri Lanka of this number 22 parties carry ethnic-based political names. 15 of these parties carry a separatist Tamil agenda & with the cleansing of LTTE terrorism from Sri Lanka and the President’s call that Sri Lanka will no longer refer to each other as majority and minority, the most important step is to legally remove all these "ethnic-based" political names and request them to rename their political parties. It is also suggested that any reference to "ethnicity" or "separatism" should not be mentioned in Sinhala or Tamil as well as in its English translation.

Such separatist political names has only served to divide the people further – we need national unity to move forward & the continuity of these "ethnic-based" political parties is not healthy for any of the programs that are being set up.

It may suit these leaders who carry these ethnic-based names to further their political careers but the people should no longer be fooled. For Tamils and Muslims to come out of the "minority-thinking" mentality and disassociate themselves from thinking they are "separate" the removal of these "ethnic-based" names is essential. Similarly it is anticipated that the 3 Sinhala parties also understand this need and change their names as well.

Extremism in any form is not healthy & we should have understood this after three decades of LTTE terror.

1. Akila Ilankai Thamil Congress

2. Akila Ilankai Tamil United Front

3. Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi

4. Eelavar Democratic Front

5. Eelam People's Democratic Party

6. Eelam People's Revolutionary Liberation Front

7. Eeelam National Democratic Liberation Front

8. Up-Country People's Front

9. Democratic Tamil National Alliance

10. Thamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal

11. Tamizh Democratic National Party

12. Tamil Eeelam Liberation Organization

13. Tamil United Liberation Front

14. Pathmanabha Eelam Revolutionary Liberation Front

15. People's Front of Liberation Tigers

16. Sri Lanka Muslim Congress

17. Jathika Hela Urumaya

18. Nawa Sihala Urumaya

19. Sinhalaye Mahasammatha Bhoomiputra Pakshaya

20. All Ceylon Muslim Congress

21. Muslim National Alliance

22. Muslim Liberation Front

- Asian Tribune -

Share this