Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 103

Nepal PM expands cabinet; eight new ministers sworn in

Kosh Raj Koirala – Asian Tribune Correspondent in Nepal

Kathmandu, 05 June, ( Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal on Thursday inducted eight new faces in his cabinet. Prime Minister Nepal expanded his three-member cabinet by inducting one deputy prime minister and seven new ministers including six ministers from Nepali Congress and one minister from the Communist Party of Nepal (Marxist Leninist) party amidst a special function held at Presidential Palace.

The prime minister administered oath of office to Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar of Madheshi People’s Rights Forum (MPRF) party as deputy prime minister and minister for physical planning and works and Nepali Congress leader Sujata Koirala as foreign minister in the new government.

The other ministers sworn in include Prakash Sharan Mahat, Minendra Rijal, Bal Krishna Khand, Uma Kanta Chaudhary and Purna Kumar Sherma of Nepali Congress and Dambar Shrestha of the CPN (ML). The ministers have not been given any portfolio as coalition partners have not yet been able to finalize the names of ministries in their share.

Prime Minister Nepal was elected unopposed as Prime Minister on May 23. He had appointed two ministers—Finance Minister Surendra Pandey and Defense Minister Bidhya Devi Bhandari—on the same day he assumed the post of the top executive in the country on May 25.

The expansion of cabinet was delayed as the major parties supporting the new government engaged in intra-party conflict over the names of party leaders to be sent to cabinet. Among others, the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist Leninist), to which prime minister belongs, has also failed to name its ministers yet.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this