Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2963

Nepal cabinet expanded yet again

Kosh R Koirala - Reporting From Nepal

Khatmandu, 18 June, ( Nepal’s Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal expanded his cabinet for third time by inducting five new ministers and six ministers for state ministers.The cabinet has not taken full shape yet as three coalition partners —Madhesi People’s Rights Forum (MPRF), Tarai Madhes Democratic Party (TMDP) and Sadbhawana Party—failed to send the names of their candidates. Of the newly inducted cabinet members, four ministers and three state ministers belong to prime minister’s party, CPN (UML), and one minister and three state ministers from another coalition partner, Nepali Congress.

Ministers from the UML include Bhim Rawal (Home Ministry), Shankar Pokharel (Information and Communications Ministry), Rabindra Shrestha (General Administration Ministry) and Rakam Chemjong (Peace and Reconstruction Ministry) - and Mohammad Aftab Alam (Labour and transport management) from Nepali Congress.

Three ministers of state from the UML are: Jutu Gautam Darji (general administration), Dilli Mahat (peace and reconstruction) and Rizban Ansari (Home). Likewise, Ganesh Bahadur Khadka, Chandra Singh Bhattarai and Khadga Bahadur Basyal of Nepali Congress have been appointed as minister of state for local development, energy and health, respectively.

The prime minister administered oath of office and secrecy to the newly-appointed cabinet ministers in the presence of President Dr Ram Baran Yadav amid a ceremony at the Presidential Palace, Shital Niwas. The state ministers were sworn in at the Prime Minister’s Office in Singha Durbar.

Prior to this, the prime minister had already inducted one deputy Prime minister and eleven ministers in his cabinet. As per the latest agreement, the MPRF will get five ministries along with equal number of state ministers and TMDP three ministries and two state ministers. There has been agreement to give one ministry to Sadbhawana party and a portfolio of state minister.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this