Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2783

Bangladesh: Awami League discloses names of its key officials

M.A Qader-Reporting from Bangladesh

Dhaka, 31 July ( Five days after the national council ruling, Awami League announced a fully fledged committee on Thursday.

Heavyweights Amir Hossain Amu, Abdur Razzak, Tofael Ahmed, Suranjit Sengupta and Abdul Jalil were dropped from the Presidium, according to the party's highest policy-making body.

They have been sidelined to the ceremonial 20-strong advisory council, apparently paying the price for pursuing 'reforms', the buzzword in politics during the two years of emergency rule, synonymous with desperate attempts to install a new party leadership, exiling none other than party president Sheikh Hasina.

Sahara Khatun, Abdul Latif Siddique, Raziuddin Ahmed Razu, Satish Chandra Roy, Obaidul Qader and Yousuf Mohammad Humayun have been included in the new-look presidium to replace the four and fill the places of former presidium members, President Zillur Rahman and the late Abdus Samad Azad.

Saber Hossain Chowdhury, Mukul Bose, Mahmudur Rahman Manna, Akhteruzzaman and Sultan Mohammed Monsur Ahmed, all so-called 'reformists', are the other big names failing to make the place in the Central Working Committee, the highest executive forum.

The party council on July 24 dissolved the old committee, which includes a 15-member presidium, 30 secretaries and 26 members.

The AL had unanimously re-elected Hasina as party president for a sixth time during the council and trusted Syed Ashraful Islam as general secretary.

Syed Ashraf unveiled the names new office bearers of the party to the media at a press briefing at the prime minister's official residence in the evening.

The seven organizing secretaries are Jahangir Kabir Nanok, Ahmed Hossain, ABM Mozammel Huq, Mesbah Uddin Siraj, AFM Bahauddin Nasim, Abu Sayeed Swopon and Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury.

The council on July 24 tasked Hasina and Ashraf to pick leaders for 45 posts in the Central Working Committee. The constitution vests powers solely on the president to choose 26 of the 73 members of that committee.

-Asian Tribune-

Share this