Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2908

Verdict on Aung San Suu Kyi adjourned: Crackdown on NLD members continues

Rangoon, 31 July, ( A Burmese court today adjourned the trial on security charges of opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi. The verdict is now expected next month, according to court and diplomatic sources, as journalist are barred from attending the court proceedings.

In the meantime, yesterday night, Burmese authorities continued with their crackdown on democratic activists and arrested 10 members of Aung San Suu Kyi's National League for Democracy from different places. Most of them are youth members.

However it was reported that the judge has said that he was adjourning the trial against Nobel Laureate Aung San Suu Kyi, ‘because of the need to interpret legal terms relating to the 1974 constitution, according to the diplomat, who had attended the proceedings’.

Aung Suu Kyi is charged under Section 22 of an internal security law to protect the state from "subversive elements" after American John Yettaw swam across the Inya lake to her home in Yangon on May 4, where he stayed, uninvited, for two days.

In a statement, Khin Ohmar of the ‘Burma Partnership’ revealed that the postponement of the verdict is because there is “this 21st Anniversary of nationwide pro-democracy uprising coming up next week on August 8 - well known as 8888 uprising and sentencing Daw Suu today might possibly spark the protest in the country.’

The following members of the National League for Democracy were arrested yesterday night at the crackdown on the NLD activists by the Burmese Army:

1. Myint Wai Yaynan Chaung Magwe Division

2. Tint Lwin Yaynan Chaung Magwe Division

3. Than Aung Yaynan Chaung Magwe Division

4. U Soe Taungdwin Gyi Magwe Division

5. Ko Par Lay Taungdwin Gyi Magwe Division

6. Kyaw Naing Taungdwin Gyi Magwe Division

7. Htay Win Kan Ma Magwe Division

8. Nay Myo Kyaw Saku Magwe Division

9. Nay Linn Soe Thaketa Rangoon Division

10. Khin Myat Thu Mingalardon Rangoon Division.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this