Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 111

First Non – MP sworn in as Cabinet Minister: Ministerial score-card - Cabinet Ministers 53; Non Cabinet 34 & Deputies 20

Colombo, 02 February, ( Patali Champika Ranawaka, the lay member of the National Heritage Party – Jathika Hela Urumiya is the 53rd member of the Sri Lanka Cabinet of Ministers. He was sworn in as the Minister of Environment & Natural Resources yesterday morning at the Temple Trees, the official residence of the President of Sri Lanka. It is learnt that for the first time, in recent years in Sri Lanka, Patali Champika Ranawaka will be first non-MP to be sworn in as a Minister.

He is expected to replace in the Parliament, JHU National List parliamentarian monk Ven. Omalpe Sobhita Thero, who resigned recently his parliamentary membership and submitted his resignation.

Sources quoting Priyani Wijesekara, Secretary General of the Sri Lanka parliament revealed that she has received on Wednesday the resignation letter of Venerable Omalpe Sobitha Thera resigning from the national list MP post. It is further learnt that she had forwarded the letter to the Commissioner General of Elections for necessary action.

According to sources, JHU lay member who has been sworn in first as a Cabinet Minister will have the first opportunity to take oath as a Member of Parliament on 06th of this month when the Parliament meets.

In the meantime President Mahinda Rajapakse administered oaths to two more Members of Parliament as Non-Cabinet Minister and Deputy Minister respectively.

Ratnapura District MP Premalal Jayasekera was sworn in as the Non-Cabinet Minister of Rural Industries.

Up-Country People Front MP, P. Radhakrishnan was sworn in as Deputy Minister for Vocational and Technical Training.

As of today there will by 53 Cabinet Ministers, 34 Non cabinet Ministers and 20 Deputy Ministers.

The Buddhist monk’s Party which has nine seats in the 225-member Parliament by joining the Mahinda Rajapakse’s Government, the strength of the Government has now shot up to 121 members.

In the meantime Sri Lanka President also reappointed Alavi Moulana, as Governor of the Western Province. Yesterday Moulana took his oaths for the post.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this