Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 111

Australia announces new scholarship scheme for education

By Ashwin Hemmathagama – Financial Correspondent

Colombo, 06 June, ( Australian High Commission in Colombo recently introduced a new scheme which would double the number of educational scholarships awarded for the Asia-Pacific region.

In this new scheme; Australia Leadership Award (ALA), Australian $ 1.4 billion would be spent on 19,000 scholarships within the next 5 years for education corporation in the region. Australian High Commissioner for Sri Lanka, Dr. Greg French said: “This newly announced scheme is expected to build Australia’s reputation as a provider of high quality education for the international students.

The important part of this program is that it would target the future leaders in the region including Sri Lanka for advanced study in Australia.”

ALA provides scholarships for longer-term post-graduate study at master or doctoral level and fellowships for short-term research, study or professional attachments. According to Australian High Commission sources the ALA awards will be open for corporate, academic, non-government as well as government services in Sri Lanka.

“This new scholarship program revives the sprit of the Colombo Plan and demonstrates the importance that Australia attaches to education for long-term development in the region,” High Commissioner said.

ALA is expected to foster enduring people to people links and build capacity in developing countries in the areas of shared critical interest such as economics management, trade policy, regional integration and cross-boundary challenges such as pandemics, security and clean energy. ALA is currently offered only to the citizens of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Federal States of Micronesia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Kiribati, Laos, Maldives, Marshal Islands, Mongolia, Nauru, Nepal, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Timor-Leste, Vanuatu, Viet Nam, Wallis Futuna and Sri Lanka.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this