Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2960

Prersidential Religious Harmony Committee To Meet Today

By K.T.Rajasingham
Colombo, 19 February, (

The President appointed Cabinet Sub-Committee on Religious Harmony will meet for the first time today afternoon at the Parliament Committee room. The meeting will be chaired by the Senior Minister Ratnasri Wickremanayake.

After the last cabinet meetin held on 14 February, Ministers A.L.M.Athaula, Rishad Bathudeen, Vasudevan Nanayakkara, Dinesh Gunawaedene, Rauff Hakeem and A.H.M.Fowzie met President Mahinda Rajapaks and brought to his notice about the threats on religious harmony gradually emerging in the country.

After a discussion on the subject, President Mahinda Rajapaksa appointed a Religious Harmony Committee.

The committee consists of Ministers Ratnasri Wickramanayake, Rishad Bathudeen, Douglas Devananda, Vasudeva Nanayakara, D.E.W Gunasekera, Prof. Tissa Vitharana, Dinesh Gunawardene, A.H.M.Fowzie, A.L.M.Athaula, Patali Champika Ranawaka, Rauff Hakeem Wimal Weerawansa, and Basil Rajapaksa.

President commissioned the Religious Harmony Committee to explore and report ways to bring about religious harmony in the country.

- Asian Tribune -

President Mahinda Rajapaksa
diconary view
Share this