Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2964

Political Parties and Independent Groups are in the fray in the North Provincial Council

By K.T.Rajasingham
Colombo, 30 July, (

Recognized political Parties and several Independent Groups have filed nomination lists in District Secretariats in the Northern Province to contest in the forthcoming Provincial Council Election.

Mr. Velayutham Dayanithi alias Daya Master, the former LTTE media person and Mr. N. Vidhyatharan, Media Secretary of the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi are the two of noted persons who were ignored and rejected by political parties and refused nominations.

As far as Vidhyatharan was concerned, he is the brother in law of Mr. Saravanapavan M.P., and a cousin of TNA Leader Mr. R.Sampanthan.

Earllier he was eyeing for the Chief Minister candidate position of the Tamil National Alliance, but in the end his application for candidature was simply thrown out by the nomination board of the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi.

Sri Lanka's ruling party United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) says that there are no former leaders of the terrorist organization Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) in the party's nomination list to the Northern Provincial Council polls.

The General Secretary of UPFA Minister Susil Premajayantha has told that the former LTTE spokesman, Velayutham Dayanithi alias Daya Master was not selected to contest the polls.

In the meantime, Mr. Sinnathurai Thavarasa of the Eelam People’s Democratic Front, is the lead Candidate of the UPFA in the Northern Provincial Council Election.

Mr. Thavarasa, a former Member of Parliament and the Advisor to Minister Douglas Devananda. Out of the 19 candidates in the Jaffna District 10 EPDP candidates, 7 SLFPers, 1 Leftist and 1 candidate representing All Ceylon Muslim Congress led by Minister Rishad Bathiyudeen are in the fray in the Jaffna district.

With the view to contest in the Northern Provincial Council, the Tamil National Alliance yesterday filed their nomination lists in all the five districts in the Northern Province.

Yesterday, around 12 Midday, Mavai S. Senathirajah, Secretary of the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi went along with the candidates contesting in the Provincial Council, Mr. D. Siththarthan, Leader of the PLOTE, M.K.Sivjilingham- a former TNA MP and the lead candidate Retd. Supreme Court Judge Mr. C.V. Vigneswaran to the District Secretariate at Jaffna and filed the nomination list on behalf of the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi.

- Asian Tribune -

diconary view
Share this