Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2740

TNA still remains undecided on the nomination of 4 ministers

By K.T.Rajasingham
Colombo, 04 October, (

The Tamil National Alliance Representatives Group meeting held today in Colombo ended up without reaching any decision on the appointment of the Board of Ministers and the Chairman and Deputy Chairman positions for the Northern Provincial Council.

The meeting was held at the TNA Headquarters in Colombo presided over by its leader R. Sampanthan.

Chief Minister appointee C.V. Vigneswaran, S. Sritharan M.P., E. Saravanapavan M.P., and M.A. Sumanthiran M.P. of the ITAK participated in the group meeting, along with Selvam Adaikalanathan M.P., M.K.Sivajilingham and Henry Mahendran representing TELO, D.Siththarthan, and K.Sivanesan PLOTE, Suresh Premachandran M.P. and Sivasakthy Anandan M.P. of the EPRLF participated in the meeting.

ITAK indicated that they intend to have two of their Councilors as Ministers and requested one of the constituent parties to opt to accept the position of the Chairman of the Assembly.

They also indicated that they are considering the nomination of Dr. Saththyalingham of Vavuniya and Kurukualarajah of Kilinochchi as their ministerial nominees.

In the meantime, the TELO has informed the TNA Representative Group that they have decided on M.K.Sivajilingham as their Ministerial nominee.

Similarly PLOTE has informed D. Sithathan as their nominee for a ministerial slot.

So far no date for the swearing of the councilors and Ministers were conclusively decided.

The TNA Representative Group has decided to meet again tomorrow at 6 PM in Colombo to continue with their discussion about the selection of the ministers for the Northern Provincial Council.

- Asian Tribune -

diconary view
Share this