Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2792

Rift widens within TNA, 9 elected councilors boycotted swearing in ceremony

By K.T.Rajasingham
Colombo, 12 October, (

Rift within TNA widens, as 9 elected Northern Provincial Councilors from the TNA boycotted the swearing in ceremony held yesterday morning at the Weerasingham Hall , Jaffna, under the leadership of Mr. R.Sampanthan, leader of the TNA.

It all started with the nomination of the board minister to the Provincial Council.

Already Mr. Suresh Premachandran M.P., and leader of the EPRLF has protested against the autocratic nomination of one of his councilor - P.Aiynkaranathan as one of the four ministers.

Mr. Suresh Premachandran alleged that EPRLF did not recommend the name of P.Aiynkaranathan for the position of a minister and it was autocratically nominated by the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi stalwarts Mr, R. Sampanthan – leader of the TNA, Mr. V,Vigneswaran –Chief Minister and Mr. M.A. Sumanthiran, the TNA MP, without consulting his party and thus he has openly disowned the EPRLF Councilor.

Also PLOTE Leader Sitharthan and TELO Councilor elect M.K.Sivajilingham has opposed the autocratic selections of councilors for the position in the 4-member board of ministers.

M.K.Sivajilingham has alleged TELO Leader Mr. Selvam Adaikkalanathan of nepotism. He further alleged that TELO leader has disregarded the decision of the TELO Presidium electing him for the position of the four ministers of Provincial Council and recommended the appointment of his nephew Deneeswaran.

In yesterday’s swearing ceremony the following nine elected Northern Provincial Councilors belonging to the Tamil National Alliance boycotted:

1. K.Sarweswaran – from EPRLF elected from Jaffna district

2. Inthirarasa Thiyagarasa - from EPRLF elected from Vavuniya district

3. T. Ravikaran – from EPRLF elected from Mullaitivu district

4. Sivapiragasam .Sivamohan – from EPRLF elected from Mullaitivu district

5. M.Thiagarajah from EPRLF elected from Vavuniya district

6. M.K.Sivajilingham – from TELO elected from Jaffna district.

7. Gunaseelan – from TELO elected from Mannar district

8. D. Sitharthan - from PLOTE elected from Jaffna district

9. T. Linghanathan from PLOTE elected from Vavuniya district

- Asian Tribune -

diconary view
Share this