Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2859

Three more TNA elected councilors took oaths in Vavuniya

Three more TNA elected councilors took oaths in Vavuniya

Yesterday, Three more Tamil National Alliance (TNA) Northern Provincial Council members took oaths before Mr. K.Thayaparan, an attorney-at-law in Vavuniya .

The three elected TNA Councilors belongs to EPRLF - K.Sarweswaran elected from Jaffna, Dr. Sivamohan from Mullaitivu and M.Thiyagarajah from Vavuniya were taken on procession from Sinthamani Temple to the Inthirans Guest House and took oaths.

Mr.Sivasakthi Ananthan MP belonging to EPRLF participated in the simple ceremony.

Earlier nine elected TNA members of the Northern Provincial Council boycotted the official oath taking ceremony held at the Veerasingham Hall at Jaffna.

Initially they decided to take oaths in Mullivaikkal in remembrance of Prabhakaran and his men who ended their resistance against the Sri Lankan security force, but subsequently on the advice Bishop Rayappu Joseph, the Bishop of Mannar the oath taking at Mullivaikkal was given up.

However on last Monday morning Mr. M.K.Sivajilingham of TELO went on with the oath taking arrangements at Mullivaikkal locatec at Paranthan – Mullaitivu road.

On Monday PLOTE members elected to the NPC under the TNA ticket took oaths in Chunnakam.. PLOTE leader Dharmalingam Sidharthan and Mr.T. Linganathan oaths was held at the house of former Member of Parliament Mr. V. Darmalingham, who is the father of Mr. Sitharthan.

Later on 14th October, two Northern Provincial Councilors took their oaths in Colombo, before Chief Minister C.V.Vigneswaran, at his residence.

Dr. G. Gunaseelan from TELO elected from Mannar and T.Ravikaran from EPRLF elected from Mullaitivu were the two who took oaths.

- Asian Tribune -

The three EPRLF Councilors seen with garlands being taken on procession to  the venue of the oath taking ceremony. - Pix Courtesy Uthayan
diconary view
Share this