Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2861

Tidbits: On Political personalities

Colombo, 13 July, (

The UPFA has denied nominations to actress and former Gampaha District MP Upeksha Swarnamali. The teledrama star contested the last parliamentary polls in April 2010 on the UNP ticket. She subsequently switched her allegiance to the UPFA.

Karunaratne Paranavithana

Former Media Secretary Karunaratne Paranavithana will contest Ratnapura district on the UNP ticket. Paranavithana submitted his letter of resignation to President Maithripala Sirisena over the weekend.

Mervyn Silva

SLFP Kelaniya Bala Mandalaya yesterday appealed to SLFP General Secretary Anura Priyadarshana Yapa to accommodate former MP Mervyn Silva in UPFA Gampaha District nomination list. A spokesperson for the Bala Mandalaya said the SLFP hadn’t responded favourably so far to the appeal made by the chief organiser for Kelaniya electorate. She said as the former Minister hadn’t been found guilty by any court of law, there couldn’t be any reason to deprive him of an opportunity to seek re-election.

Somawansa Amarasinghe

ormer Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) leader Somawansa Amarasinghe has decided not to contest the upcoming general elections and withdrawn from the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to form the United National Front for Good-Governance with the UNP, JHU and some SLFP breakaways. He said he would never collaborate with the UNP despite his losing a chance to contest the elections. Amarasinghe had earlier decided to join Pivithuru Hetak National Council chairman the Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera to contest the elections. However, since the JHU had signed an MoU with the UNP, Amarasinghe said he had no party to contest from.

Hirunika Premachandra

UPFA Western Provincial Councillor Hirunika Premachandra signed nominations to contest for the forthcoming General Elections from UNP. She will be contesting from the Colombo district.

Earl Gunasekara

The nominations has not been given for former Parliamentarian Earl Gunasekara to contest at the August election under the United National Party (UNP) ticket, it was reported. Earlier, Gunasekara said that he would defect from the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) and join the United National Front for Good Governance to contest the election under the UNP ticket.“I will resign from politics, if nomination is not given for me from the UNP..

Reginald Cooray

Former UPFA Kalutara District MP and Minister Reginald Cooray says that he is financially incapable of running for election and that he will not contest the upcoming parliamentary polls. Speaking to media in Kalutara today, Cooray said that he has engaged in politics for 29 years and that he has no intention of continuing in politics any longer. He added that he will not be joining the United National Party (UNP).

Dr. Sarath Amunugama

Minister of Higher Education and Research Dr. Sarath Amunugama has also stated that he would not join the UNP and that he will not contest the upcoming election from any party.

Dr Rajitha Senaratne

Health Minister Dr Rajitha Senaratne has declared that he would also contest under the symbol of the ‘elephant’ along with several other SLFPers.

Nirmala Kothalawala

Former Deputy Minister Nirmala Kothalawala announced his decision to quit electoral politics today. He said that he took this decision after considering the recent event in Sri Lankan political scene. However, he said that he will not completely resign from politics and will continue to argue for his political ideas. Kotelawala entered electoral politics in the 1990s. In 1997, he became Chairman of Dodangoda Pradeshiya Sabha in Kalutara District. In 1999 he entered the Western Provincial Council and in 2004 was elected to parliament.

A. M. Jameel

Former SLMC group leader in Eastern Provincial Council A. M. Jameel joined the All Ceylon Makkal Congress led by Rishad Bathiudeed and is expected to contest the general election under the Peacock symbol in Digamadulla District. He is likely to sign nomination papers today. Jameel wrote a critical letter to SLMC leadership a few days ago, saying that he is frustrated, especially because a certain MP continues to block his development programmes in Kalmunai area. SLMC announced yesterday that Jameel has been suspended from the party.

Susil Kidelpitiya

Western Provincial Councilor Susil Kidelpitiya signed nomination papers to contest for the August 17th general election from the Colombo District representing the Tamil United Liberation Front. Kindelpitiya, the Leader of the People’s National Front For Good Governance, signed nomination papers after reaching an agreement with the Tamil United Liberation Front.

- Asian Tribune -

Tidbits: On Political personalities
diconary view
Share this