Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2960

Two defeated candidates for TNA national list

Colombo, 24 August, (

Tamil National Alliance has nominated as National List MPs, former MP K. Thurairatnasingam from Trincomalee and Shanthi Sriskantharajah from Vanni - the two defeated candidates.

Asian Tribune learnt that the TNA came to this decision after long discussions held at R. Sampanthan's residence in Trincomalee.

Yesterday, M.A. Sumanthiran visited the house of Arunthavabalan, the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi candidate from Chavakachcheri as Sampanthan's special emissary and informed the people gathered over there, that TNA would appoint Arunthavabalan as the National List MP for the first two and a half years and for balance two and a half years they would appoint Mrs. Shanthi Sriskandarajah from Vanni.

But the assurance given by Sumanthiran was reneged and TNA appointed Shanthi Sriskantharajah for the full five years as the TNA national list MP.

However many people from the North and East rejected the two names s forwarded by the TNA to the election commissioner.

Earlier, it was expected that former MP Suresh Premachandran, who was defeated in the Parliamentary election would be appointed as a national list MP.

- Asian Tribune -

 Two defeated candidates  for TNA national list
diconary view
Share this