Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 72

Three more new Cabinet Ministers sworn in

Colombo, 10 September, (

Three new Cabinet Ministers were sworn in before President Maithripala Sirisena yesterday at the Presidential Secretariat.

The speculation and rumors which circulated in the media on the appointments of Douglas Devananda of EPDP and that of Arumugan Thondaman as Ministers with Cabinet status were at last unfounded.

Furthermore, two senior SLFPers A.H.M.Fowzy and Dilan Perera were not given appointed as Ministers yesterday.

Yesterday, UPFA National List MPs Faizer Mustapha, Vijith Wijeyamuni Soysa and UNP National List MP Malik Samarawickrama were sworn in as new Ministers.

Faizer Mustapha – Minister of Local Government and Provincial Councils

Vijith Wijeyamuni Soysa – Minister of Irrigation and Water Management

Malik Samarawickrama – Minister of Development Strategies and & International Trade

The new appointments bring the total number of Ministers in the Cabinet to 46.

Forty-two Ministers were sworn in last Friday while Foreign Minister Mangala Samaraweera took oath soon after the election and before the visit of a top level US delegation last month.

- Asian Tribune -

Three more  new Cabinet Ministers sworn in
diconary view
Share this