Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2529

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palanisamy, is seek a trust vote in the Assembly today

Chennai, 18 February, (

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palanisamy, is seeking a trust vote in the Assembly today, barring any last-minute hitches the new AIADMK government is expected to sail through.

Palanisamy is seeking the confidence vote in line with Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao asking him to do so on Thursday, while inviting him to form the government.

Though on 16th of this month, the new government was given 15 days’ time to prove the majority in the House, Palanisamy, a known loyalist of AIADMK general secretary V K Sasikala, opted to do it within two days.

Accordingly, earlier,"Under Section 26 (1), Speaker P Dhanapal has summoned the assembly on February 18 at 11am. On the occasion, motion for vote of confidence of the ministry will be taken up," assembly secretary AMP Jamaludeen said in a brief statement.

In fact, many MLAs supporting Sasikala who were staying at the resort in Koovathur, about 80 km from Chennai, have left for the Tamil Nadu State Assembly in 31 motor cars to be on time for the trust vote at 11 am.

In the meantime, on the eve of the vote, the Palanisamy camp yesterday got a jolt when one of its MLAs R Natraj, a former state DGP, said he would vote against the chief minister's motion of confidence. Natraj's move has reduced Palanisamy's stated support to 123 members in a House of 234.

Before Natraj announced his decision, Palanisamy has claimed the support of 124 MLAs and asserted his government will stay while his rival and predecessor O Panneerselvam has vowed to continue his fight against Sasikala and her family "till the time Amma (Jayalalithaa) regime is restored."

Though O Panneerselvam, former Chief Minister, now has the backing of 11 MLAs, experts feel he can jolt the government if he is able to wean away a few legislators from the Palanisamy camp and render it a minority government. AIADMK has 134 MLAs in the 234-member legislative assembly.

The opposition Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) under MK Stalin has signalled its intent to vote against him even as the Congress remained undecided.

- Asian Tribune -

AIADMK legislative party leader Edappadi Palanisamy (left) was invited by Tamil Nadu Governor C. Vidyasagar Rao for a meeting at Raj Bhavan in Chennai on Thursday.
diconary view
Share this