Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2556

President Maithripala Srisena Assigns Functions To New Ministers

Colombo, 11 June, (

President Maithripala Sirisena has assigned duties and functions of the newly created ministries as wells as the departments, statutory institutions and public corporations allocated to them have been now gazetted.

Some of the functions of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has been shifted to Tilak Marapona, the new minister of Development Assignment.

The Employees Trust Fund (ETF) which was under the Prime Minister now given to Marapona who will now be responsible, among other things, for the implementation of the ETF Act of 1980.

Also, the Department of Project Management and Monitoring and the Academy of Financial Studies (Miloda) have been handed over to the Ministry of Development Assignments.

Furthermore, Marapona will have to assist the prime minister in monitoring and evaluation of national policies. The Prime Minister’s responsibility of coordinating with other ministries on implementation of policies now becomes a function of Marapona’s ministry.

Minister Mangala Samaraweera is mandated under the Ministries of Finance and Media, thirty-three institutions including the Treasury, Sri Lanka Customs, National Budget Department, Inland Revenue Department, Excise Department and the Insurance Board of Sri Lanka.

Minister Ravi Karunanayake who was shifted out of the finance ministry in the latest cabinet reshuffle, has been closely associated with a DLB-funded university scholarship scheme of his mentor, the late Lalith Athulathmudali.

Also, several additional institutions have been allocated to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in addition to the diplomatic missions of Sri Lanka abroad.

The Lakshman Kadirgamar Institute (LKI), National Lotteries Board, Development Lotteries Board, and the National Oceanic Affairs Committee Secretariat have also been allocated under the Foreign Ministry.

Minister Gayantha Karunathilaka of Lands & Parliamentary Reforms is to oversee the following departments and institutions:

Department of Land Commissioner General, Land Reform Commission, Department of Land Settlement, Department of Surveyor General, Institute of Surveying and Mapping, Land Survey Council, Department of Land Use Policy Planning and the Kantalai Sugar Company.

However, three institutions under the media ministry — the department of government printing, the National Film Corporation and the State Printing Corporations – were taken out and given to Public Administration and Management to Palitha Range Bandara MP; State Minister of Skills Development and Vocational Training

- Asian Tribune -

President Maithripala Srisena  Assigns Functions To New Ministers
diconary view
Share this