Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2399

Are you ready for the World Cup final?

By S.H.Moulana

The game of cricket introduced to the colonies by the British until few decades ago it was monopolized by it to be taken over later by Australia.

When the short version of this game was first introduced in England in 1975, West Indies dominated it by winning the first two tournaments with the help of their legendary players like Clive Lloyd, Vivian Richards, Wesley Hall, Charlie Griffith and Lance Gibbs.

So far 11 tournaments have been contested and the winners with the tallies are West Indies (2), India (2), Australia (5), Pakistan (1), Sri Lanka (1).

Asian teams very rarely had a chance those days to qualify to be in the finals.

Despite the tough competition three countries from Asia namely India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka managed to lift the World Cup.

Apart from West Indies and three Asian teams Australia has added as much as 5 trophies to its cupboard.

So the unfortunate ones, who are yet to win the 50 over World Cup are England, New Zealand and South Africa.

The ongoing tournament, which has now reached the final stage, is with an Asian domination with India and Pakistan both being previous winners of the cup.

Host nation England was eliminated by Pakistan in the semifinal stage, while Bangladesh was beaten by India in the same stage.

So the cup is left to be fought out by two arch rivals, India and Pakistan on the English soil, the birth place of cricket.

Sunday’s final is expected to be a keenly contested game which will draw a record crowd.

The cricket fans, which are not fortunate enough to be at the ground, will be glued to their TVs.

Let’s hope for an exciting contest with a close finish.

We wish good luck for both the countries!

- Asian Tribune –

Cricket: ODI World Cup Trophy. Who will lay their hands on it on Sunday
diconary view
Share this