Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 106

Arnold Mayor and Eesan Deputy Mayor of Jaffna Municipal Council

By K.T.Rajasingham

Tamil National Alliance has confirmed Emanuel Arnold of the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi (ITAK) as their nominee for Mayor and Thurairasa Eesan of the TELO as the Deputy Mayor nominee for Jaffna Municipality.

This has been confirmed at a meeting held today at the Martin Road, Jaffna office of the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi.

President of the TELO Selvam Adaikalanathan M.P., and Secretary General N. Sri Kantha, D. Sitharthan M.P. of PLOTE and Mavai Senathirajah M.P. & M.A. Sumanthiran M.P. of the ITAK and the 16 elected members of the ITAK on behalf of TNA for the Jaffna Municipal Council participated in the meeting.

Out of the total of 45 elected members of the Jaffna Municipal Council, 16 belongs to TNA, 13 to All Ceylon Tamil Congress, 10 for EPDP led by Douglas Devananda, 3 for UNP, 2 for SLFP and 1 for TULF.

Emanuel Arnold was earlier a Councilor in the Northern Provincial Council. He resigned his position in the Provincial Council to contest in the Jaffna Municipality election in ITAK ticket.

At the same time Thurairasa Eeasan is an employee in the Multi-purpose Cooperative Society and contested on behalf of TELO in ITAK ticket.

- Asian Tribune -

Emanuel Arnold - Mayor Nominee for Jaffna Municipal Council
diconary view
Share this