Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2557

UNP Working Committee Conforms Party Appointments

Colombo, 27 April, (

esterday, the Working Committee of the United National Party has approved the names proposed by the Politburo for new posts within the party.

The Working Committee of the UNP convened yesterday morning presided over by the party leader Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

A couple of leading UNP stalwarts confirmed to “Asian Tribune,” that all appointments that were proposed yesterday are now in effect.

Meanwhile former Speaker of House Joseph Michael Perera has resigned from the Working Committee over his displeasure with one appointment, - the appointment of Ravi Karunanayake.

Joseph Michael Perera was against the appointment of Ravi Karunanayake as Party Assistant Leader. He stepped down from the committee as a sign of protest, and Party Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe, it seems had called for alternative suggestions to Karunanayake’s post, but none had been put forward.

When asked for comment, Ravi Karunanayake MP told that “Only one or two persons have opposed my appointment as the Assistant Leader. Therefore, it is not worth making any comment on it.” Ravi Karunanayake MP retains his position in the UNP.

It seems Joseph Michael Perera has some personality clash with Ravi Karunanayake and his opposition to his election said to be not based on policy decision.

In the case of the General SEcretary of the Party, Deputy Leader of the UNP, Sajith Premadasa told the party Working Committee yesterday that he did not agree with the decision to appoint Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam as the General Secretary of the UNP.

However, Premadasa added that as the majority wanted Kariyawasam, he wouldn’t oppose the appointment. The UNP Working Committee met yesterday at Party HQ to decide on whether to appoint nominees selected by the Party politburo to party positions.

The proposal by Minister Gamini Jayawickrama Perera that the office bearers be elected by secret ballot was turned down by party Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe, who said there was no such provision in the party constitution.

In the meantime, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe congratulated the newly appointed party office bearers adding he is committed towards coordinating to strengthen the party further.

Minister Sajith Premadasa was re-appointed as the Deputy Leader and Ravi Karunanayake as Assistant Leader.

Minister Kabir Hashim was appointed Chairman, Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam the General Secretary, Minister Navin Dissanayake the National Organiser, Parliamentarian Ravi Karunanayake the Assistant Leader, State Minister Dr.Harsha De De Silva the Treasurer and State Minister Ruwan Wijewardene the Deputy General Secretary.

Furthermore State Minister Ajith P Perera will serve as Trade Union Secretary and Minister Harin Fernando the Media Secretary.

- Asian Tribune -

Joseph Michael Perera with Ravi Karunanayake
diconary view
Share this