Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2958

Five Govt. Secretaries of PM Mahinda summoned to Parliament

Colombo, 10 December, (

Five Secretaries appointed by Sri Lanka PM Mahinda Rajapaksa are summoned to the Parliament to answer it was announced on 9 December.

Speaking at a Press Conference organized by the UNP, Former Minister of Megapolis and Western Development Patali Champika Ranawaka (MP-Jathika Hela Urumaya) on 9 December said that several Secretaries appointed by Sri Lanka PM Mahinda Rajapaksa will face Parliamentary Committees to explain their roles.

Ranawaka MP said: “Mahinda Rajapaksa MP is barred by the Courts from holding the Premiership. Therefore we have handed over a motion to summon five Secretaries appointed by him calling them to answer our questions in Parliament. They are to be summoned to three Committees-Finance, Privileges and Audit.”

This motion has been signed by Ranawaka MP together with four other UNP MPs - Arjuna Ranathunga, Lakshman Kiriella, Rajitha Senaratne, and Akila Viraj Kariyawasam.

The motion calls five secretaries appointed by Mahinda Rajapaksa MP to appear before these Committees: S Amarasekera (PM’s Secretary), SR Atigala (Finance Ministry), Bernard Wasantha Perera (Trade, Commerce and Christian Affairs Ministry), Upali Marasinghe (Housing and Social Welfare Ministry), and ST Kodikara (International Trade Ministry).

- Asian Tribune -

Patali Champika Ranawaka (MP-Jathika Hela Urumaya)
diconary view
Share this