Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2614

Sri Lanka Election Commission recognizes five new political parties including TMVP

Sunil C. Perera in Colombo

Colombo, 24 January, ( Elections Commissioner Dayananda Dishanayake has recognized another five new political parties including Tamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal led by Pillaiyan faction.

Accordingly, the total recognized political parties in the country increased to 58.

The new political parties recognized by the Election Commissioner and their symbols are as follows:

1. The Okkoma Wasiyo Okkoma Rajawaru organization with the party symbol of till,

2. Pathmanabha Elam People’s Revolutionary Liberation Front with the party symbol of candle,

3. Thamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal with the symbol of boat,

4. Nava Sihala Urumaya with the symbol of bow and arrow and

5. The Muslim Liberation Front with the party symbol of butterfly

These five parties have the right to contest in elections to be held in future.

Meanwhile, the elections commissioner’s secretariat announces that the accepting of nominations for the forthcoming polls for nine local government bodies in the Batticaloa district will end at 12.30 pm on Friday.

Two political parties and four independent groups have submitted their nominations by yesterday. Ten independent groups have made their deposits. The Election Commissioner will announce the date of elections after concluding the nomination process.

In the meantime Tamil National Alliance and United National Party have decided not to contest in the 9 local government elections to be held in the East.

- Asian Tribune -

Share this