Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by World Institute For Asian Studies|Powered by WIAS Vol. 12 No. 2966

President Srisena Appoints A Four-Member Commission To Probe Easter Sunday Attack

Colombo, 22 September, (

President Maithripala Sirisena last night appointed a four-member commission to probe the Easter Sunday attacks.
The Extraordinary Gazette notification was issued at midnight yesterday.

The Commission will be headed by the Court of Appeal Judge Janak de Silva and consist of Court of Appeal Judge Nissanka Bandula Karunaratne, Retired Court of Appeal Judge Nihal Sunil Rajapaksa, Retired High Court Judge Atapattu Liyanage Bandula Kumara Atapattu and Retired Ministry Secretary W. M. M. Adhikari.

W.M.M. Adikari, a retired Ministry Secretary, will serve as the Secretary of the commission.

Reportedly, the Gazette Extraordinary relevant to this appointment has issued yesterday (21).

It has also been tasked with identifying officers and authorities who failed to anticipate that a terrorist and extremist activities of this nature would take place within the country and those who failed to perform their duties and did not take proper action.

Identifying persons and organizations responsible for demonstrations, acts of sabotage and causing damage to property after the April 21st attacks will also be another responsibility of the Commission.

Recommending measures on rehabilitating and assisting persons affected, ensuring public safety and preventing recurrence of such incidents will also be a responsibility of the commission.

The commission is required to submit an interim report in three months, a subsequent interim report in the next two months and the final report in six months.

The Presidential commission has been appointed just weeks ahead of the Presidential election.

Following the Easter Sunday attacks the President had appointed a three-member committee to investigate the incident and the committee handed over its report to the President in June.

The Select Committee of Parliament to look into and report to Parliament on the terrorist attacks that took place in different places in Sri Lanka on 21st April 2019 was appointed on 22.05.2019.

Yesterday, on 21st Parliamentary Select Committee recorded statement from President Maithripala Sirisena too.

- Asian Tribune -

President Srisena Appoints A Four-Member Commission To Probe Easter Sunday Attack
diconary view
Share this