Skip to Content

Asian Tribune is published by E-LANKA MEDIA(PVT)Ltd. Vol. 20 No. 79

Ratnasiri Wickremanayake sworn in as new PM of Sri Lanka

[b]Ratnasiri Wickremanayake sworn in as new PM of Sri Lanka – a compromise choice.[/b]

[b]Colombo, 21 November, (; [/b]Ratnasiri Wickremanayake has been sworn in as the new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka as a compromise choice. He was the former Minister of Buddha Sasana, Agriculture and Deputy Minister of Defence in the outgoing Cabinet of the former President Chandrika Kumarattunga. He also served as the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka in the Chandrika Kumaratunga’s People Alliance Government from August 2000 to 2001 December.

Thereafter he was the Leader of the Opposition till April 2002 subsequently giving way to Mahinda Rajapakse.

Wickremanayake born on 05 May 1933 entered parliament in 1960 when he contested as a Mahajana Ekstha Peramuna (MEP) candidate and defeated MDH Jayewardene, a one-time UNP stalwart. In 1962, he joined the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) and was also member of parliament in 1965 and 1970, from the Horana electorate in the Kalutara district.

After 1977 he held the position as the General Secretary of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party.

While he had his first stint under Chandrika Kumaratunga, he was considered a hawkish Prime Minister by the Tamil rebel outfit - Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam.

Share this